中文

中文是一门重要的语言——首先,它代表的是汉语世界的普遍思维方式。自2003年上海浦东德威学校创办以来,我们一直非常重视对学校所在国家语言及文化的了解与感知。因此,我们的中文课程不仅只关注学生运用汉语的流利程度,还致力于让他们有能力理解世界的本质——即人们在思维模式上的差异正如同英汉双语一样,存在天壤之别;此外,我们还注重培养孩子们果断和有效驾驭这个世界的能力。只有这样,我们的学生才可以在不同国家的人们之间建立起沟通的桥梁。

我们为不同年龄段、不同水平的学生开设了适合他们需求的学习课程——其中,既有汉语母语人士,也有将其作为第二语言的学习者,还有将中文作为第三甚至第四语言的彻底初学者。我们的课程不仅为青少年学习者的语言发展奠定了基础,而且优化了创新技术,助力学生取得优异的IB考试成绩。

我会中文

早在一、二年级时,参加“汉语作为外语教学”(MFL)项目的学生就可以同时参加创新型“我会”中文课程。课程由上海浦东德威学校构思和开发,为学生们提供了一系列主动使用这门语言及应对各种实际生活场景的机会。口语及写作技能的学习是同步进行的,但相互独立,让学生们一次专注于一件新鲜事物,从而最大程度地促进他们的学习进步。另外,“‘我会’课程充分遵循中文这门语言的独特性,” 课程开发领航人Parker女士解释道,“我们根据难易程度和使用频率向学生介绍汉字,帮助他们迅速建立起一个实用且强大的汉字库,以便对汉语世界进行感知。”

网络平台为课程提供辅助,让学生能够自主管理和掌控个人学习情况,也让老师和家长能为孩子们提供支持。借用复旦大学胡文华教授的话来说,这可以“鼓励学生成为强大的独立学习者”,让老师的“课堂效率更高”。Parker女士还补充道,有了“我会”项目的辅助后,老师们能够更好地“发现学生所遇到的问题,并帮助他们解决。更加关注学生的个人需求,从而及时提供详细的反馈。

screenshot-2020-10-10-at-31356-pm-上海德威外籍人员子女学校(浦东)-20201010-154559-385

中文课程路径

中文 A (中文作为母语)

这个路径课程的学生已经在家中自如使用中文/或者在以中文为教学语言的学校中学习了汉语,并且汉语是他们的母语。英语通常是他们的第二语言。他们在家庭环境中一般说普通话。

在该路径的课程中,教师和学生使用的课堂语言是普通话。教学重点是老师会利用多种不同的文本,进一步培养学生的分析和评价技巧,并且锻炼他们实用且富有创造性的写作能力。在这一路径课程中,我们强烈建议学生广泛阅读中文书籍、杂志和报纸,从而增强他们的文字理解能力。在修完这门课程之后,学生们通常是参加国际中学教育普通证书(IGCSE)课程汉语母语考试以及国际文凭组织的大学预科课程(IB)的中文A语言和文学或中文A文学考试。

中文B(中文作为二语)

这个路径的课程是面向一直生活在中国(或者以汉语为官方语言的其他地区)以外的华裔学生,或者一直生活在中国并且已经学习汉语很长一段时间的非华裔学生。这些学生能够进行与其年龄相对应的沟通对话,但是他们尚未充分掌握中文读写方面的能力。教师在课堂上的教学和沟通大约90%是采用普通话。在这一路径课程的学生,教学的侧重点是培养他们的阅读和写作技能,从而使他们能够理解并分析逐渐复杂的书面和口语材料,并且评估各种形式与风格的语言之间存在的微妙关系。学习这一路径课程的学生通常是参加 国际中学教育普通证书(IGCSE)课程汉语作为第二语言类考试以及国际文凭组织的大学预科课程(IB)的中文B标准水平或高水平考试。

中文C (中文作为外语)

这个路径课程的教学对象是非本地/非华裔学生。从最初语言学习阶段开始,该课程更多地强调听力、说话和阅读方面的技能,在这一路径课程的学生使用“我会中文“学习方法并用”我会“网站资源独立学习或者辅助他们的学习。虽然我们有足够的网上资源供学生练习使用,我们还是建议学生能够在更广泛的范围内和真实的语言使用环境中练习他们在课堂上学到的技能。这个路径课程的学生通常是参加国际中学教育普通证书(IGCSE)课程汉语作为外语考试或者中学教育普通证书(GCSE)课程中文考试,以及国际文凭组织的大学预科课程(IB)的中文B标准水平或汉语零基础起点考试。

mandarin-header-上海德威外籍人员子女学校(浦东)-20201010-154608-388

德威幼儿园(DUCKS)的双语学习

在德威浦东幼儿园,双语学习是学生发展的基本组成部分。我们的双语学习模式是根据孩子如何学习语言的理论以及我们老师们所做的深入学术研究开发出来的课程,这个课程模式给年幼的儿童提供一个他们能够沉浸在英语和汉语的语言环境,而不仅仅只是在正式的课程中学习。双语模式是由一位英语母语教师和一位汉语母语教师一起给孩子们提供一个具备丰富语言学习机会的环境,在这种环境中,孩子们能够获得自信并用有意义的方式自由使用语言,而不仅仅是模仿,以此达到语言在情境中的实用性。

德威中文教学成果新闻

中文架起通往世界的桥梁

中文架起通往世界的桥梁

 

我们为不同年龄段、不同水平的学生开设了适合他们需求的学习课程——其中,既有汉语母语人士,也有将其作为第二语言的学习者,还有将中文作为第三甚至第四语言的彻底初学者。我们的课程不仅为青少年学习者的语言发展奠定了基础,而且优化了创新技术,助力学生取得优异的IB考试成绩。此外,我们的“我会”在线学习平台近日在北京举行的“中国国际服务贸易博览会” (CIFTIS)上喜获殊荣。

阅读更多

“中国文化进校园”竞赛获奖

“中国文化进校园”竞赛获奖

 

祝贺我校所有在“中国文化进校园”中文作文竞赛中获奖的同学!这是一项面向上海地区所有国际学校学生的作文大赛。本次竞赛中,总共57名来自我校中学部的同学分别荣获一、二、三等奖。同时中学部“中文团队”还获得了“杰出组织”称号。

阅读更多

德威浦东学生在进博会宣传片中表达满腔热忱

德威浦东学生在进博会宣传片中表达满腔热忱

 

在中国国际进口博览会开幕式上,习近平主席、约克公爵安德鲁王子、国际贸易大臣利亚姆·福克斯博士以及英国驻华大使吴百纳(芭芭拉·伍德沃德)女士共同观看了这段视频。来自上海德威外籍人员子女学校(浦东)的汉语第二语言及汉语外语项目的学生们用精彩的普通话展示表达了他们对进博会的满腔热忱!

阅读更多

Mandarin

Mandarin language is important not just because it is the way the Chinese world communicates, but because it is first and foremost the way in which the Chinese world thinks. Ever since Dulwich College Shanghai Pudong (DCSPD) opened in 2003, we have always put a strong emphasis on knowing and appreciating the language and culture of our host country. The focus of our Mandarin programmes is thus not just on how fluently our students can express themselves in Chinese, but rather on them being able to understand the “world” as it is – where people think in ways as fundamentally different as English and Mandarin—and to navigate that world effectively without hesitation. Only then will our students be able to build bridges between people of any nation.

We offer multiple learning pathways to students of all ages and abilities — from native Mandarin speakers to second language learners to absolute beginners who might be learning Mandarin as their third or fourth language. Our programme not only provides a foundation for young language development, but also optimises innovative technology and produces outstanding student IB exam results.

Wohui Mandarin

As early as Year 1 and 2, students learning Mandarin as a Foreign Language (MFL) have access to the innovative Wohui Mandarin programme, meaning “I Can.” Conceived and developed in DCSPD, the programme gives MFL students opportunities to actively use the language and to navigate real-world scenarios. Spoken and written language are learned in parallel but independently of each other, maximising students’ progress by allowing them to focus on one new thing at a time. Furthermore, “Wohui follows the unique characteristics of the Chinese language,” explains Ms Parker who pioneered the development of the curriculum. “Characters are introduced in terms of their simplicity and their frequency of use, thus enabling students to rapidly build up a useful and powerful bank of characters with which to make sense of the Chinese world.”

The programme is supported by an online platform that puts learning in the hands of students and empowers teachers and parents to support them on their learning journeys.  In the words of Professor Hu Wenhua from Fudan University, this “encourages students to become strong independent learners" and enables teachers to “work more effectively in the classroom.” Ms Parker adds that with Wohui teachers are better able to “identify and help solve problems encountered by their students, pay more attention to individual needs and provide detailed feedback in a timely manner.”

Launch WoHui in CIFTIS

Mandarin Pathways

Mandarin A (CNL)

Students in this pathway acquired Mandarin as their first language at home and/or in schools where Mandarin was the instructional medium. English is typically their second language. Their home environment is typically Mandarin speaking.

Within the pathway, the classroom language used by both teacher and students is Mandarin. The focus for students is to further develop their skills of analysis and evaluation using a variety of Chinese literary texts, and to develop their practical and creative writing skills. Students in this pathway are strongly suggested to read sufficient Chinese books, magazines and newspapers to reinforce their literature comprehension skills. Students following this pathway will normally take IGCSE Chinese as a First Language and IB Chinese A Language and Literature or Literature for their exam courses.

Mandarin B (MSL)

This pathway is for heritage students who have been living out of China (or other areas where Chinese is used as an official language) or non-heritage students who have been living in China and learning Mandarin for a long time. These students are able to carry out communication tasks that are age-appropriate, but may not be fully functional in their literacy skills in Mandarin. About 90% of the classroom instructions and languages used by the teacher are in Mandarin. The focus for students in this pathway is to develop their reading and writing skills, so that they are able to understand and analyse increasingly complex written and spoken materials and assess subtleties of the language in a wide range of forms and styles. Students following this pathway normally take IGCSE Chinese as a Second Language and IB Chinese B standard level or high level exam courses.

Mandarin C (MFL)

This pathway is for non-native/non-heritage students. From an initial stage, the course places a greater emphasis on functional skills in listening, speaking and reading, while students in this pathway use the Wo Hui Mandarin approach and website resources to support their learning. It is recommended that students practise the skills learnt in the classroom within the wider community and in authentic language usage settings. Students following this pathway normally take IGCSE Chinese as a Foreign Language or GCSE Chinese, and IB Chinese B standard level or Chinese ab initio exam courses.

Mandarin Pathway

Dual Language Learning in DUCKS

In DUCKS, Dual Language learning is a fundamental part of our student development. Our approach is based upon a range of recognised theory about how children learn language and has been developed through in-depth academic and action research by our own leaders and teachers. The programme exposes young learners to English and Mandarin in their natural learning context throughout the day rather than just through formal language opportunities. By providing an environment rich in learning opportunities, with one teacher focusing on English and a second on Mandarin, young children gain the confidence to use language with meaning rather than just through imitation.  

Mandarin News

Mandarin as a bridge to the world

Mandarin as a bridge to the world

 

We offer multiple learning pathways to students of all ages and abilities — from native Mandarin speakers to second language learners to absolute beginners who might be learning Mandarin as their third or fourth language. Our programme not only provides a foundation for young language development, but also optimises innovative technology and produces outstanding student IB exam results. Our online learning platform, Wohui, was recently recognised in Beijing at the China International Fair for Trade in Services (CIFTIS).

Read More

"Chinese Culture into Campus" Competition Awards

"Chinese Culture into Campus" Competition Awards

 

Congratulations to all the students who won the "Chinese Culture into Campus" essay competition, a writing competition for all international schools in Shanghai to participate. 57 students from Senior School won first, second and third prize. The Senior School Mandarin team won the outstanding organisation prize.

Read More

Dulwich Pudong Students Share Their Excitement in CIIE Promotion Video

Dulwich Pudong Students Share Their Excitement in CIIE Promotion Video

 

President Xi Jinping; HRH Prince Andrew, The Duke of York; Dr Liam Fox, Secretary of State for International Trade; and Her Majesty’s Ambassador Dame Barbara Woodward watched this video at the opening of the China International Import Expo on Monday 5 November. This brilliant display of Mandarin from Dulwich College Shanghai Pudong second and foreign language students was a great expression of their excitement for the Expo!

Read More