学习方法论

最近,我的女儿跟随校足球队参加了一系列锦标赛。回到家后,她一下子瘫倒在沙发上,身上沾满了泥土和碎草,满头大汗,疲惫不已。她迫不及待告诉我们的第一件事(除了又饿又渴之外),便是每场比赛的比分,以及每位射手的名字。在她眼里,这是一项竞技运动,比赛的核心目的可能就是战胜其他球队。
 
但是,学习和它完全是两码事。对于学习,我们不应只单单关心成绩,当然也不应强调赢家或失败者。的确,近几个月来有很多关于高成就人士的报道,他们显然是各职业领域中的榜样、精英,但同时也饱受心理健康问题的困扰。在他们所成长的教育体系中,他们总是被教导要追求最好的成绩,成为班上的佼佼者,以至于逐渐形成了这样一种心态,即只有继续被视为“优秀”并取得比别人更好的成就,那么作为个人,他们才有了价值。这样一来,这些人会将自己最近完成的一笔交易、一次销售业绩或一场表演视为评判自身是否优秀的标准。一旦其中任何一项开始显得平庸、普通,这些人就会立即灰心丧气,陷入深深自我怀疑的黑暗中。

学习方法论

因此,教育就被赋予了一种职责。我们的目标是培养学生在离开校园之后,为漫长、有意义、健康的人生之路做好准备。在面对学习时,我们鼓励学生和家长重视过程。这就是为什么在学习成果之外,我们强调的是“学习方式”。今年,我校首次推出了下表中的内容,并面向10-13年级的学生试行。这将与他们IB项目中的“十大培养目标”直接挂钩。如果学生处于表格的左边阶段,则意味着他们是相对依赖的学习者:非常依赖于老师,倾向于按部就班地开展学习。随着学生的不断成熟和向右侧发展,他们的个人责任感和独立性也会不断增长,为培养一种全面、均衡和健康的学习方式奠定坚实的基础。有了正确的学习方法后,学习成绩也会有相应的提高,并清楚地体现出学生持续不断的努力、决心和学习动机。

海明威
一段旅程有个终点固然是好事,但最终还是旅行的经历更为重要。
- 海明威, 美国短篇小说家

我们希望,后人能因此而受益。

IB项目中的“十大培养目标”

IB项目中的“十大培养目标”

Mr Craig Jenkinson
中学校长

Back

Approaches To Learning

Approaches To Learning

My daughter collapsed on our settee recently, smeared with mud and grass stains, hot and exhausted, having just played football with her school team in a tournament. The first thing she told us (apart from the fact that she was hungry and thirsty) was the score from each match and who shot each goal. In her mind, this was competitive sport, where arguably the core purpose of the playing was to win against other teams. 
 
But academic learning is different. It is not all about the grades, and it certainly is not about winners or losers. Indeed, much has been reported in recent months about high achieving adults – apparent role models in various professions of successful attainers – who are now struggling with mental health problems. Having come through an education system themselves where they were told to chase the top grades and be the top of their classes, they developed the mindset that they only have worth and value as an individual if they continue to be seen to ‘do well’ and collect achievements that make them seem better than others. As a result, these adults believe that they are only as good as their last business deal, their most recent sale, or their latest performance. If any one of those begins to look a little mediocre, these adults lose heart and spiral down into an unhealthy darkness of profound self-doubt.

800

Education has a responsibility, therefore. We aim to prepare our students for a long, purposeful, and healthy life beyond school. When it comes to academic learning we encourage students – and their parents – to value the journey. This is why we report on Approaches to Learning, in addition to attainment. The words below are new this year and are currently being trialled with Years 10 to 13, directly linking to the Learner Profile for the IB Diploma Programme. If students are to the left of the grid, they are relatively dependant learners: very reliant upon being told what to do and on following their teacher. As students mature and progress to the right, they are growing in personal responsibility and independence, developing strong foundations for a rounded, well-balanced, and healthy approach to study. With the right approaches to learning in place, academic outcomes will be as good as they can be anyway; representing a student’s consistent efforts, commitment, and motivation.

Ernest Hemingway
It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters in the end.
- Ernest Hemingway, an American short-story writer

We hope that future generations will benefit from this.

Learner Profile for the IB Diploma Programme

screen-shot-2019-11-28-at-162022

Mr Craig Jenkinson
Head of Senior School