教书育人学以致用

在上海浦东德威学校,我们的办学理念之一是“全球视野,教学相长”。那么,细化到每天的学习生活,这对我们而言意味着什么呢?
 
任何一所学校的教学都要以教师和每位学生间的积极关系为基础。而这,也是我们工作的核心。通过自身办学经验和相关研究,我们了解到,师生关系对一个学生的学习成绩和社交能力发展来说至关重要。和老师建立起积极的关系有助于学生在课堂环境中感到更安心和自在。
 
“全球视野,教学相长”的另一个方面是,我们会定期、连续性地通过各类具有针对性的个性化反馈来加速学生的进步。虽然对很多人来说,考试评估是他们最关心的话题,但真正能让学生的学习发生质变的因素是反馈。教师有责任培养学生的学习能力,并为他们提供反馈。他们的反馈可以让学生在离开课堂时清楚地知道自己在哪些方面做得不错,又在哪些方面需要改进,而不会感到沮丧。如果反馈主要是负面的评价,研究显示,这样的反馈会打击学生的学习积极性和他们所取得的学习成果(Hattie & Timperley, 2007, Dinham)。而我们的目标是,永远不让这种情况出现。

教书育人

我们要求所有老师经常性地为学生创造机会,说出他们的真实想法和心声。同时,让学生参与到课程和评估方式的设计中来。当然,考试评估在学年中的某些时候是非常必要的,而且中学部开展的评估会比其他学部更多。然而,我们会努力减少“一锤定音”式的评估,开展更多能够反映学生真实水平的间歇性单元考核。这种简单的理念能够缓解学生们对于单元末测评方面的压力。

学以致用

所有上述工作都旨在培养学生了解和认识自我的能力,让他们学会各种敦促自身学习的技巧。这种自我意识对于学生的学习投入性、学习动机和进步而言不可或缺。有了这种意识,学生就可以通过不断地自我反思来设定和达成各项远大的个人目标。作为老师,我们有责任促成这种意识的养成。

学以致用

最后,“全球视野,教学相长”中的一个重要部分是,学校激励学生服务他人、服务社会,并积极采取行动。在上海浦东德威学校,我们的学生很幸运地拥有大量机会来做到这一点。

学以致用

Ms Caroline Taylor
上海德威浦东校长

Back

Teach & Learn Worldwise

Teach&Learn Worldwise

Part of our mission at Dulwich College Shanghai Pudong is ‘Because we Teach Worldwise, students Learn Worldwise’. What does this mean to us on a day to day basis?

Each school’s teaching is founded on positive relationships with every student. This is at the core of what we do. We know through our own experience, as well as through research, that the relationship between a student and their teacher plays an important role in the trajectory of their academic success and social development. Establishing a positive relationship with their teacher helps a child feel more comfortable and safe in their classroom environment.

Another aspect of ‘Teach Worldwise, Learn Worldwise’ is our attention to accelerating student progress with focused, personalised and varied feedback on a regular and consistent basis. Whilst assessment may be the focus for many, it is feedback that can transform a student’s learning. A teacher has the responsibility to nurture a student’s learning and to provide feedback in such a manner that the student leaves the classroom knowing what they do well and what they need to do to get better, without feeling demoralised. When feedback is predominately negative, studies have shown that it can discourage student effort and achievement (Hattie & Timperley, 2007, Dinham); our aim is to never create a situation such as this.

screen-shot-2019-11-12-at-172037

We ask that our teachers create regular opportunities for authentic student voice and choice and that the students have influence in curriculum design and style of assessment. Of course assessment is necessary at certain times of the year and is more dominant in the Senior School than any of the other schools. However, there is a commitment to work towards having less high stakes assessments and more authentic, intermittent quizzes and tests throughout a unit of work. This simple act can relieve the stress associated with a single, end of unit assessment.

screen-shot-2019-11-12-at-171816

All of the above is linked to providing students with the ability to know and understand themselves and to develop the skills to drive their own learning. This self-awareness is key for student engagement, motivation and progress. With this self-awareness, students can develop and use self-reflection to set and achieve ambitious, personal goals. It is our role as teachers to facilitate this.

screen-shot-2019-11-12-at-173447

Finally, an essential part of ‘Learning Worldwise’ is the College inspiring students to commit to action in the service of others and the world. Our students are fortunate to have ample opportunities to do this throughout their time at DCS Pudong.

caroline

Ms Caroline Taylor
Head of College