萧瑟的童颜

2001年,David Elkind教授在其经典名作《萧瑟的童颜》The Hurried Child)一书中阐述了如今瞬息万变的世界对人们认知中的童年概念造成了怎样的影响。社会变革和对于下一代越来越高的期望无形中让父母和教育工作者们感到了前所未有的压力,因为他们都希望确保孩子能够尽快为充满竞争的全球化职场环境作好准备。
 
这就导致了21世纪,儿童成长过程中一个重要元素的缺失——玩耍。然而,众多研究资料都无一例外地强调了玩耍对于各年龄段儿童的重要意义和奇妙影响。
 
在小学阶段,我们所推崇的理念是,儿童成长——无论从生理层面还是精神层面来说,都应是循序渐进,而非揠苗助长式的。孩子们的玩耍方式也许和他们年幼时相同,但在形式上更为细致、更复杂,也更具社交联结性。他们在玩一些常见游戏的同时,也会加入一些创新元素。正如美国社会学家George Herbert Mead先生所建议的那样:“孩子们应学习社会责任感,与他人建立联系,并将自己融入到社会大集体中去。”

上海德威浦东小学教育

在刚刚过去的假期里,我们着手对小学部操场开展了一系列改良工作,旨在为同学们提供更多机会进行交友、自我挑战,并培养他们的独立性——我们希望这样可以帮助孩子们在当今这个行色匆匆的快节奏时代里找到一种从容长大的方式。
 
同时,我也想借此机会感谢以下几位7年级同学和小学部老师,是他们倡导和支持了本次小学部学生工作。他们分别是:Allison、Siobhan、Ailsa、Mahek、Ambre、Aditya、Alex、Jiyoon和SriTanvi几位同学以及Ms. Frolchenko、Ms. Beck、Mrs. Faulkner、Mrs. Crossland和Mrs. Coughlan等老师。

Ms Victoria Foster
小学校长

Back

The Hurried Child

The Hurried Child

In 2001, Professor David Elkind wrote in his landmark book: The Hurried Child how today’s rapidly changing world was affecting the fundamental concept of childhood. Endless rising expectations and social change are increasing the stress placed on parents and educators to ensure children are prepared for a competitive and global workplace as soon as possible.

This has resulted in a key component of human development to disappear for the life of a child growing up in the 21st century – the disappearance of play. There is however, a large volume of research that highlights the importance and power of play for all ages.

During the Junior School years, growth, both physical and intellectual, is gradual rather than rapid. We see the same forms of play from early childhood but they are more elaborate, more complex and more socially interconnected. Common games are played with new innovations and as American sociologist, George Herbert Mead, suggests “children learn social responsibility, to relate to each other and to integrate themselves within the social collective.”

fotojet-1-Dulwich_College_Shanghai_Pudong-20200228-164720-30

Over the holidays, we began work to develop the Junior School playground to provide our students with more opportunities to socialize, challenge themselves and create independence – hopefully to provide ways to grow up slowly in a hurried and fast-paced world.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the following Year 7 students and Junior School teachers who led and supported this process for the Junior School students: Allison, Siobhan, Ailsa, Mahek, Ambre, Aditya, Alex, Jiyoon, SriTanvi, Ms. Frolchenko, Ms. Beck, Mrs. Faulkner, Mrs. Crossland and Mrs. Coughlan.

Ms Victoria Foster
Head of Junior School