阅读的乐趣

研究表明,快乐阅读对孩子的教育有积极的影响。同样地,有证据表明,每天为阅读感到快乐的孩子不仅在阅读评估中表现得比那些不喜欢阅读的孩子更好,而且他们的词汇量更大,知识面更广,对其他文化的理解也更好。

阅读对儿童来说依旧非常重要——它真的会给你带来改变!孩子们都反馈说他们很想念老师,但你知道吗,实际上父母才是孩子一生中最重要的老师——是的,甚至比他们在学校的老师还重要!与孩子一起阅读,或者通过阅读让自己成为孩子的榜样或鼓励你的孩子阅读各种文本,越早开始效果越好。

阅读的乐趣

对低龄的学生来说,学习阅读不仅要理解书本上的内容,还要学会倾听。通过听故事,孩子们接触到广泛的词汇。这有助于他们建立自己的词汇量,提高他们在听的时候的理解能力,这在他们开始阅读时是至关重要的。对他们来说,理解故事的情节也很重要。即使你的孩子不理解每个单词,他们也能听到新的声音,单词和短语,然后他们就可以试着重复他们所听到的。

阅读的乐趣

不管你的孩子是刚开始学习阅读,还是已经很擅长了,你都可以帮助他们保持对书籍的兴趣。利用这个意想不到的机会,找出你的孩子的兴趣所在,帮助他们找到有趣的书,并一起阅读。

我们确实需要强调阅读的重要性。作为父母,我们需要在孩子上学期间优先安排阅读,以帮助他们在以后的生活中取得成功。毕竟,正如苏斯博士所说:你读的越多,你知道的就越多,你知道的越多,你去的地方就越多。

一起来愉快的阅读吧!
 

Ms Katherine Weir-Davis
幼儿园园长

The Joy of Reading
screen-shot-2020-02-27-at-095422

Studies show that reading for pleasure has a positive impact on children’s educational performance. Likewise, evidence suggests that children who read for enjoyment every day not only perform better in reading assessments than those who do not, but also develop a broader vocabulary, increased general knowledge and a better understanding of other cultures.

It is so important for children to read – it really can make a difference! Feedback tells us that children are missing their teachers, but did you know, it is actually parents who are the most important educators in a child’s life – yes, even more important than their teachers! And it is never too early to start reading together or being a good role model by reading yourself or encouraging your child to read a variety of texts.

fotojet-2-Dulwich_College_Shanghai_Pudong

For our youngest of students, learning to read is about listening and understanding as well as working out what is printed on the page. Through hearing stories, children are exposed to a wide range of words. This helps them build their own vocabulary and improve their understanding when they listen, which is vital as they start to read. It is important for them to understand how stories work too. Even if your child does not understand every word, they will hear new sounds, words and phrases which they can then try out, copying what they have heard.

img-3913jpg-Dulwich_College_Shanghai_Pudong

Irrespective of language, or whether your child is only just beginning to learn to read or whether they are fluent, you can play an important role in helping to keep them interested in books. Take this unexpected opportunity to find out what interests your child, help them to find books that will be engaging and fun, and spend time reading together.

We really do need to highlight the importance of reading. As parents, we need to prioritise reading in a child’s school years to help them to succeed later in life. After all, as Dr Seuss would say “The more that you read, the more you will know, the more that you know, the more places you will go”.

Happy reading!

Ms Katherine Weir-Davis
Head of DUCKS